top of page

I'm Losing my Religion

“I’m losing my religion.” What does that exactly mean? To me it means I would rather have a personal relationship with Jesus than to follow a set of rules. I think so often we few God and church and even the Bible as a list of rules instead of a love story.

Yes, the Bible is carved with many life lessons and “rules” as to how to better live this life… yet I find myself thinking so many times that I have to operate within a four wall box. What if those rules were just for my protection… that Jesus gave them to us as a warning because He wants us to live completely and totally sold out for His name? I’m losing my religion also means that I am critically thinking hard about the man-made rules I find written on the walls. I have to ask myself: Are these Scripturally based or were they thought up in a board room with no open Bible?

We have to remember something so divinely beautiful about our Lord: He always operates from a place of freedom. We were not created to live confined to a four wall box, like I had been trapped in for many years. I lived my life knowing about God’s grace but leaving it as an unopened gift. Maybe you have too. Time’s up.

I’m losing my religion to be real. Both in my walk with Christ and for the people I see every day. I choose grace and freedom over chains lies and a set of rules that need to be marked off.

John 8:36 says, “So if the Son of Man has set you free, you are free indeed.”

Did you catch that last phrase? You are free INDEED. Christ carried that cross for you and me so we could live out that example of grace. Will you receive it? Will you live it out?

This life is so much bigger than a big masquerade we have all played parts in. We can drop the mask and come right to Jesus. This is more about “being” than “doing”. Its about living outside the box with a grace-filled purpose knowing we can carry that cross behind Jesus with dignity and freedom.


bottom of page