top of page

I threw away my TV and it gave me LIFE


This is my old television stand. Over the last several months I have grown to HATE this cabinet. Why? It distracted me from LIFE. It was so much easier to sit down after a day of study and work in front of my favourite show and sit in suspense wondering what would happen next.

I’ve needed to BEGIN again in a lot of areas in my life. This is one of them. Change is usually good. Now this cabinet holds only things that give me LIFE: Plants, books, keepsakes and my journal.

I don’t think there is anything wrong with a good movie night or following your favourite show, BUT for me, it was taking place of my alone time with God, which turned into me forgetting to let Him lead my life and then led to me forgetting to trust in who He says I am.

Are you letting Netflix or screen time distract you from life? I know we were not created to sit in front of a screen, letting hours roll by. Here’s my reasons why:

1. It makes our brains NUMB. Literally…numb to our feelings, emotions, reactions, and decision making.

2. Studies show it can give us a “drug-high” and it becomes a craving. Yet, those negative aspects of the show can damage the way we think, resulting in negative behavior. Some studies even reveal it can lead to depression.

3. It can alter our perception of perfection and authentic life.

4. It makes you MORE tired.

5. It affects how you sleep.

6. It takes us away from building community outside the screen.

Here’s what I’ve been doing instead of screen time:

1. Having unedited, gut wrenching conversations with God. (This is truly life changing)

2. It allows me to have time to spend with friends. I’m meeting new people and discovering new places in the city. AND DOING things I love like yoga, art and writing.

3. I feed my brain with reading and live bible studies.

4. I call home more often to check on my family.

5. I’m more aware of my surroundings.

6. I’m more in tune with my feelings

7. I can actually hear God whisper to me.

I will still watch a good movie and show from time to time…but I have found LIFE in so many other things now that I have put away my screen. Press pause and go LIVE life.


bottom of page